Cookies help us deliver a great experience. By browsing our website you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy Policy last updated: 05/02/2020
The ghd original IV  hair straightener

The ghd original IV hair straightener

Receive a FREE heat mat with this styler

The original icon

Description

The one where it all started; the ghd original IV styler still inspires fans worldwide for perfect everyday results.

This original hair hero uses ceramic heat technology, working at the optimum styling temperature of 185ºC to deliver kind to hair styling, ensuring shiny, sleek results and a long-lasting finish. Simple, effective, iconic, this ghd hair straightener is timeless.

A rounded barrel and floating plates means our original ghd hair straighteners glides easily through hair, creating beautiful styles that will be the envy of everyone you meet. Plus, with automatic sleep mode and universal voltage you can create beautiful results at home or abroad with total peace of mind.

Suitable for all hair types, the ghd original IV hair straightener is a brilliant all-rounder, ensuring you have a good hair day, every day.

PRICE INCLUDES

  • The ghd original IV styler
  • Free delivery available

Product Features

  • Original ceramic heat technology
  • Optimum styling temperature of 185°C: any hotter damages the hair, any cooler and the result is compromised.
  • Floating plates: for extra control while styling.
  • Round barrel: for versatile, snag-free styling that's perfect for creating curls.
  • Automatic sleep mode: switches off if not used for 30 minutes.
  • Universal voltage: for outstanding performance wherever you are in the world.
  • Professional length 2.7m cable
  • 30 second heat up time: for quick and easy styling
  • UK three pin plug

Buy with Confidence

  • 2 years manufacturer's guarantee
  • Secure online payments
  • Guaranteed product authenticity
  • Track your order

You may also like ...

  1. ghd air® hair dryer

    hair dryers

    ghd air® hair dryer

    £109.00
  2. ghd styler carry case & heat mat

    gifts

    ghd styler carry case & heat mat

    £21.95
  3. ghd bodyguard - heat protect spray

    Heat Protection Sprays

    ghd bodyguard - heat protect spray

    £18.00
The ghd original IV hair straightener is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 6629.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not hot enough I have always used ghds and have the large flat iron for straightening my hair which is brilliant I’ve had it a long time still going strong but I’ve bought the slim ones so that I can curl and straighten my hair but it doesn’t feel as hot and I’m not getting the same effect I looked back on previous reviews and noticed that others are having the same problem I am disappointed as they are expensive.
Date published: 2021-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GHD Still rocks Many people have created copies and fake products to compete with GHD. Ive never steered that way at all. Just ordered my new unit and I can not be happier!! GHD for life :)
Date published: 2021-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Scarso Prodotto difettoso, le lamelle non si chiudevano perfettamente e la resa sul capello non funzionava.
Date published: 2021-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ottimo prodotto All’inizio ero scettica anche per via del prezzo non proprio accessibile. Ma mi sono ricreduta al primo utilizzo. Si accende e in un attimo è pronta raggiunge la temperatura ideale per uno styling che dura anche se lego i capelli quando li sciolgo la piega è ancora lì. Ho provato anche a fare i boccoli e resistono per giorni anche su capelli naturalmente molti lisci. Sono molto soddisfatta e la consiglio. Costasse un po’ meno sarebbe più accessibile
Date published: 2021-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cubre totalmente las expectativas. EXCELENTE PLANCHA LA RECOMIENDO 100%, CUMPLE TOTALMENTE LO SE ESPERA DE ELLA.
Date published: 2021-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can i get a refund??!!! Really disappointed with these. I used to have some years ago and loved them, but this time they were no better than a £20 set from Tesco. What has happened GHD???? I wish id gone for Cloud 9.
Date published: 2021-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So disappointed I had my old straighteners 12 years with no problem loved them when they stopped working I purchased what I thought was the same ones but the new ones are so disappointing I dread washing my hair and having to use them the plates don’t meet and I don’t get the smooth look I use to get with old ones. They leave my hair fizzy and looks as though I have combed it. They don’t seem to get hot enough to do the job. Considering buying a different brand straighteners to compare if I get better finish.
Date published: 2021-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love GHD This was a replacement product for my old GHD straighteners. Got the narrower original ones as I wanted to do some curls in the ends of my hair. I was recommended these as it was easier to curl hair with them. Great product. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2021-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GHD straighteners Best strainghtener on the market. Quality is slways good and the customer service is always excellent.
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as I remember I loved my old set of ghds which gave up after 10 years of loyal service. Of course I replaced them with the ghd original model as I felt they were superior to other brands and had lasted so long that they were worth the investment. So, I was hugely disappointed to find that my new ones were not as good as my ageing ones I'd recently said goodbye to. The plates don't meet properly and only seem to meet at a certain point a not evenly across the plate area. This means it takes longer to straighten my fine hair to allow for the fact that only a small area ever grips my hair as I use them. I'm in two minds whether to return them but have seen other reviews that say this may be a consistent problem. I'm gutted and if this is now the quality of ghds then they aren't worth the money.
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Conforme qualité prix Facile à utiliser et accessible niveau prix . Manque coffret de rangement car chaud pas de possibilité de le mettre dans le carton
Date published: 2021-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ghd This us my second purchase my first pair lasted over 10 years so well worth the money. Good performance as well
Date published: 2021-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GHD straighteners bought to replace old ones value for money and ever so hair straightning!
Date published: 2021-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gap too big between plates I actually thought these were faulty when I received them because the gap between the plates is so big that my hair just falls through it. The only way I can even slightly curl it is if I put a thick wad of hair in and press really hard but then it only really works on the tip. Apparently this is how they are meant to be but my last pair certainly weren’t like this! Also I ordered these for next day delivery… they turned up 2 days later. So over all, I’m really not impressed.
Date published: 2021-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I had my last GHDs for over 8 years and had to buy a new pair as the wires had suddenly become exposed. The new original GHDs are no way as good as my old ones. I have to keep going over and over my hair which isn’t great for the condition. Plus my hair does not stay straight. I almost feel like GHD don’t make the original as good so you buy the more expensive ones.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent lisseur,surtout par rapport à tous ceux que j'ai essayés avant! Seul problème: le prix, élevé! Très bon produit, t très efficace, du niveau pro. Mais...De prix vraiment élevé!
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelente Tanto el servicio como el producto son excepcionales.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELENTE PRODUCTO DE TODAS LA PROBADAS ANTERIORMENTE, GHD ES LA UNICA QUE HA COMPLIDO CON MIS ESPECTATIVAS
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolutely shocking customer service over faulty straighteners I've had ghd straighteners for the past twenty years. The first set didn't last too long, but the second pair have been going for 12 years. The lead is split in places and they had become a little dodgy so I thought it was time to replace them. Ordered a set on line after being given a 10% discount code. There was nowhere to enter the code on the payment page, so assumed there would be something on the next page. No. Called them straight away to be told they didn't recognise the code until I sent a screenshot to prove it had come from them! This was honoured, but when I opened the straighteners, the plates didn't meet. I sent photos, only to be told this was a design feature and not a fault! Not entirely sure how the plates would have gripped hair with a gap in them? At my own expense I had to pay for them to be returned for a refund. I will never use this company again if this is how customers are treated - absolutely shocked as have never had this trouble from them before.
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job The only think I don’t like it is that the plate are little small and don’t close properly I need to press hard to close when I’m straightening my hair but it does the job happy with it
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The originals are the best Bought the originals years ago and sold them to buy the platinum, they stopped working and GHD replaced them and last month they stopped working again, but my guarantee had expired, so I decided to buy again the original ones, and I love them
Date published: 2021-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best on the market I ordered replacement straighteners for the GHD 4s I had stolen by my ex partner, I ordered the exact same straighteners as I had no issues with the previous ones, they came the next day. So far used them twice and am very happy with them. Before my previous GHDs, I had Aria straighteners and while they were good, they aren't as good as GHD straighteners. GHD are the best by far. Don't waste your money on cheaper £20-£30 straighteners they are rubbish. Save up for these you won't be disappointed. And beware of fake knock offs from elsewhere, hence why I bought direct from GHD then I know they're the real deal.
Date published: 2021-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them.... I bought the original GHD's because I had some many years ago. I was surprised to see you still make them. I am glad I invested in them again. In a word....BRILLIANT.
Date published: 2021-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GHD straightener Bought this product on line the delivery was quick. I have curly hair and this worked wonders and didn’t singe the hair.
Date published: 2021-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ghd original not happy with product I recieved the item promptly. It doesn't seem to get very hot! So am a bit disappointed. I've always had ghd but maybe there is a fault with them? Sorry it's not a good review. Maybe I could exchange them for a different straighteners? Plz let me know? Thanks
Date published: 2021-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn’t live up I bought these to replace my GHD originals I’ve owned for 15 years prior, and the design feels way different. In terms of styling there’s definitely an issue with the way the ceramic plates pinch because you can’t close them fully, so I don’t achieve straight, more flicked fringe and ends. Also not as hot either. Maybe I got a bad pair or maybe just not made as well!
Date published: 2021-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really disappointed I bought these after waiting nearly 20 years to get them. I was soooo excited to get them but was left disappointed. I have straight hair but with a frizzy ‘halo’. But within 20 mins of straightening my hair it was frizzy. I’ve tried different products to see if it helps, but before I get to work I’m frizzy. I used for 4 days, then went back to my £40 straighteners. I have returned to GHD.
Date published: 2021-07-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fine, didn't blow my mind I've had a pair of cheap Babyliss for about 10 years and have always wanted GHDs, honestly these seem good quality but I'm not convinced they are a massive upgrade. My hair is very fine and curly/wavy, it reacts very quickly to humidity etc. These still aren't really doing the trick. Because this is such an old model there are probably straighteners with better/different features available now.
Date published: 2021-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excelente producto llenó todas mis expectativas, esta placha deja el cabello suave y manejable. bastante lasio o si lo prefieres con ondas al final. estoy super peinada desde que me levanto, el pelo solo vuelve a su estado normal una vez bañado.
Date published: 2021-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with purches Happy with product and would recommend product and I am happy with them
Date published: 2021-07-02
  • y_2021, m_8, d_3, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.18
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_6629
  • loc_en_GB, sid_124, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ghdhair

Has the design changed for the IV over the years?

some reviews have mentioned the plates don't meet in the middle on the IV anymore. I bought mine 7 years ago (which went bang today), and the plates meet in the middle for smooth straight hair. Has the design or quality changed in any way since then? Is it the same great quality product which will give the same great results?
Asked by: CurlyC
We can confirm that the ghd IV styler is designed to have a slight gap between the plates to allow for thermal expansion. Once the styler has heated up this gap reduces and does not affect the styling experience.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2020-02-13

Do they have temperature control

Asked by: Hippy
The ghd IV styler operates between 175 and 185 degrees and does not have a temperature control.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2020-12-10

the plates doesn't stick flat to each other?if thats like should be?

i got a ghd 4 styler today and when i compare to my old one i notice thats the plates doesn't stick to each other .
Asked by: izabela
We can confirm that when ghd stylers are cold you will notice that there is a slight gap between the plates. This is to allow for thermal expansion and a smoother styling experience, the gap should reduce when the styler has heated up.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2020-05-18

The plug model in Britain?

Is the plug different in Britain from the rest of Europe? Like in France for example?
Asked by: Mayflower
All orders purchased from our UK website will be shipped with a standard UK 3 pin plug. You will be required to use the correct plug adapter for the country you are in when using abroad.
Answered by: MATTH
Date published: 2020-11-03

Will these Straighter work in Canada

Hi I have a pair of these here in England but I'm moving to Canada for a year and I was wondering given the Canadian Mains Voltage is lower than the UKs will these work in Canada? THANKS, M x
Asked by: Monnia
Yes, the IV Styler will work in Canada. All of our stylers are equipped with universal voltage, which means that no matter where you are in the world it will work. The only thing you will need to do is use it with the appropriate plug adapter for the country that you are in.
Answered by: MATTH
Date published: 2019-09-15
  • y_2021, m_8, d_3, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.18
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_97
  • loc_en_GB, sid_124, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ghdhair
IF YOU DON'T ASK, YOU DON'T GET

Get the gift you really want by sending a not-so-subtle hint.

This year I would like the

Send hint to:

limit 19 characters
limit 150 characters
*These fields are required
They don't want to get the hint

Unfortunately, {0} doesn’t want to receive emails from ghd, so we cannot send them your hint. But don’t worry, here's a couple of ways to get what you want, including:

  1. Leave not-so-subtle hints with strategically placed magazines and the ghd adverts circled
  2. Share our social posts so they #getthehintdarling

YOU'VE SENT TOO MANY HINTS

Thank you for sending a not-so-subtle hint for the gift you want. Unfortunately, you have hit your limit for today, but come back tomorrow to make sure you get your most wanted ghd products.

THANKS

Increase your chances of getting the gift you really want by sharing your hint on social.

Send more hints

Be sure to get your dream combo and send more hints.