Cookies help us deliver a great experience. By browsing our website you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy Policy last updated: 24/05/2018
The ghd original IV  hair straightener

The ghd original IV hair straightener

The original fan-favourite hair straightener.

The original icon

Description

The one where it all started, the ghd original IV hair straightener AKA ghd IV hair straightener is favoured for creating sleek and smooth everyday styles with enhanced shine.

This original hair hero uses ceramic heat technology to style at the optimum styling temperature, for perfect results every time. Simple, effective, iconic.

A rounded barrel and floating plates makes this original ghd hair straightener glides easily through hair, creating beautiful styles that will be the envy of your friends. Plus, with automatic sleep mode and universal voltage you'll have peace of mind to create great results at home or abroad.

Suitable for all hair types, the ghd original hair straightener is a brilliant all-rounder, ensuring you have a good hair day, every day.

PRICE INCLUDES

  • The ghd original IV styler
  • Free delivery available

Product Features

  • Original ceramic heat technology
  • Optimum styling temperature of 185°C: any hotter damages the hair, any cooler and the result is compromised.
  • Floating plates: for extra control while styling.
  • Round barrel: for versatile, snag-free styling that's perfect for creating curls.
  • Automatic sleep mode: switches off if not used for 30 minutes.
  • Universal voltage: for outstanding performance wherever you are in the world.
  • Professional length 2.7m cable
  • 30 second heat up time: for quick and easy styling
  • UK three pin plug

Buy with Confidence

  • 2 years manufacturer's guarantee
  • Secure online payments
  • Guaranteed product authenticity
  • Track your order

Killer Combos

  1. The ghd original IV  hair straightener

    ghd original IV styler

    The ghd original IV hair straightener

    £109.00

    +
    =

    Combo Purchase

    Price for both items

    £130.95

  2. The ghd original IV  hair straightener

    ghd original IV styler

    The ghd original IV hair straightener

    £109.00

    +

    hair dryers

    ghd air® hair dryer

    £99.00

    =

    Combo Purchase

    Price for both items

    £208.00

The ghd original IV hair straightener is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 6073.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Me encanta El resultado de planchado ea perfecto.la recomiendo
Date published: 2020-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Falta de funda Es una pena que éste gran producto no venga con una bolsa para guardarlo, le hace perder categoría.
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Regalo perfecto! Le regalamos este producto a nuestra hija y la hicimos muy feliz.
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comoda Es comoda por tamaño efectiva y desprende gran calidad
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product Fast efficient service. Easy to order. Arrived in a couple of days.
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not as good as my original pair of 15 years ago I returned my stylers & received a refund. Performance was poor & results unsatisfactory. I bought new GHDs to replace my wonderful original pair from 15 years ago! I take issue with these new GHDs being described as ‘Original’ they’re not as good as my 1st, original pair of GHDs! The plastic casing around my new GHDs was inferior in quality compared to my originals (in my opinion). Also, the ceramic plates did not meet (think they call it ‘floating plates?!?!?) meaning I had to squeeze the plates together really firmly to grip the hair going through the middle of the plates. I understand this is a ‘design feature’ preventing drag on hair, I would say a ‘design flaw’ - how else is the hair straightened unless it grips to some degree? Customer service was good though, I returned the stylers & received a refund & I’m on cloud nine with another make of stylers I subsequently bought.
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Genial Me salió muy barata con la rebaja y yo que tengo el pelo grueso y ondulado me viene genial.
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Increíble!! Me habían hablado de ella y decían que era la mejor del mercado y no se equivocaban!!! Me encanta la utilizo a diario y cada día estoy más contenta!!! La recomiendo para aquellas que tengan un pelo rebelde y sin brillo.
Date published: 2020-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Me encantan Son muy cómodas de utilizar. Se calienta rápidamente y te avisa con pitido cuando está preparada. Sencillas y muy cómodas. Las recomiendo.
Date published: 2020-03-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Vino defectuosa Me vino defectuosa y he tenido que enviarla al servicio de garantia ya que cuando hacía uso de ella no calentaba correctamente
Date published: 2020-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it! It is nice and easy to handle. It reaches the temperature very fast. I would really prefer to be able to regulate the temperature. I have straight hair so I don't need 180 degree to style them.
Date published: 2020-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Esperaba otra cosa de esta marca de plancha No me convence. Probé esta marca porque mis amigas me la recomendaron y esta plancha en especial no me gusta como deja el pelo. Tengo que darme muchas pasadas. Nose no me la volvería a comprar. Hay otras marcas de plancha que si lo dejan mejor. Quizás sea que haya tenido mala suerte con esta plancha porque hablan muy bien de la marca en sí.
Date published: 2020-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent straighteners. Bought these as a Christmas present for my partner. She is very happy with them. They do exactly what they're supposed to do. Well made. Well packaged. Another quality product from GHD. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2020-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never go back to cheap straighteners Heat up in seconds! Very smooth on hair and no need to go over twice. Love them
Date published: 2020-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A* Excellent, well recommended. Quick & easy to use, great investment
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review Writing reviews is a waste of my time, but luckily I have a few moments to spare. If I wasn't happy with my purchase from you, believe me, you would have been contacted.
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ideal Rápidas y efectivas, y eso que no soy muy mañosa. La única pega; unas planchas anteriores tenían una velcro para recoger el cable y que así no se me quemaran en contacto con la plancha calienta, las tuve perfectas hasta que fallaron. Aquí sería recomendable algo similar, no el típico alambre...
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buena calidad y prestaciones Plancha de muy buena calidad con una velocidad muy alta para conseguir la temperatura. Sencilla de utilizar.
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Original ghd I bought my first ghd 14 years ago and only had to replace it this year hoping this will last as long...only difference in the last 14 years the plug has be improved
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average. I bought a set of GHDs for myself as a treat at Christmas. I’ve been wanting a pair for years, got to say I’m not as impressed as I thought I would be. They work as well as your average £20-£30 superstore straighteners you can purchase.
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Me encanta. Para mí son las mejores planchas de pelo. No hay otras como estas. Tenemos dos en casa unas para mi hija y otras para mi.
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Good straighteners ,perfect straight hair would recommend to friends
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product makes the process really quick This product makes straightening my hair really quick and simple. It also leaves my hair feeling really nice and silky. Would definitely recommend!
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Estupendas planchas Este producto permite obtener un acabado profesional excelente. Llevo años usandolas y el pelo mantiene una buena apariencia, no se ve estropeado ni queimado. Ahora he comprado otras para mi hija, pues dan un resultado también fantástico.
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Son unas planchas excelentes. Las recomiendo sin duda alguna Todo fantastico.lLass recomiendo.No estropea el cabello.
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ..... Not as good as the first ghd’s o bough... pretty disappointed to be honest
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Muy bueno muy contenta Muy buena calidad y sin ningún defecto, me llegó en tres días
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Je suis plus que satisfaite du produit. Qualité assurée. Il rend véritablement les cheveux brillants et ils fonctionnent très rapidement. Achetez-le les yeux fermés.
Date published: 2020-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Muy Buena De maravilla, muy contenta! Es la quinta plancha que he tenido y es la primera ghd,tardé pero valió mucho la pena,te deja el pelo super liso y aguanta muchísimo más liso que otra plancha de otras marcas y con una pasada se nota un montón. Muy contenta y que me dure muchísimo. Gracias!
Date published: 2020-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with the product I bought these for my 22 year old daughter, she is very happy and says that they are the best she has ever owned
Date published: 2020-03-05
  • y_2020, m_4, d_8, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_6073
  • loc_en_GB, sid_124, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ghdhair

Has the design changed for the IV over the years?

some reviews have mentioned the plates don't meet in the middle on the IV anymore. I bought mine 7 years ago (which went bang today), and the plates meet in the middle for smooth straight hair. Has the design or quality changed in any way since then? Is it the same great quality product which will give the same great results?
Asked by: CurlyC
We can confirm that the ghd IV styler is designed to have a slight gap between the plates to allow for thermal expansion. Once the styler has heated up this gap reduces and does not affect the styling experience.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2019-10-08

Do they have temperature control

Asked by: Hippy
The ghd IV styler operates between 175 and 185 degrees and does not have a temperature control.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2019-02-01

the plates doesn't stick flat to each other?if thats like should be?

i got a ghd 4 styler today and when i compare to my old one i notice thats the plates doesn't stick to each other .
Asked by: izabela
We can confirm that when ghd stylers are cold you will notice that there is a slight gap between the plates. This is to allow for thermal expansion and a smoother styling experience, the gap should reduce when the styler has heated up.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2018-11-20

The plug model in Britain?

Is the plug different in Britain from the rest of Europe? Like in France for example?
Asked by: Mayflower
All orders purchased from our UK website will be shipped with a standard UK 3 pin plug. You will be required to use the correct plug adapter for the country you are in when using abroad.
Answered by: MATTH
Date published: 2019-06-06

Will these Straighter work in Canada

Hi I have a pair of these here in England but I'm moving to Canada for a year and I was wondering given the Canadian Mains Voltage is lower than the UKs will these work in Canada? THANKS, M x
Asked by: Monnia
Yes, the IV Styler will work in Canada. All of our stylers are equipped with universal voltage, which means that no matter where you are in the world it will work. The only thing you will need to do is use it with the appropriate plug adapter for the country that you are in.
Answered by: MATTH
Date published: 2019-02-03
  • y_2020, m_4, d_8, h_12CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_92
  • loc_en_GB, sid_124, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ghdhair
IF YOU DON'T ASK, YOU DON'T GET

Get the gift you really want by sending a not-so-subtle hint.

This year I would like the

Send hint to:

limit 19 characters
limit 150 characters
*These fields are required
They don't want to get the hint

Unfortunately, {0} doesn’t want to receive emails from ghd, so we cannot send them your hint. But don’t worry, here's a couple of ways to get what you want, including:

  1. Leave not-so-subtle hints with strategically placed magazines and the ghd adverts circled
  2. Share our social posts so they #getthehintdarling

YOU'VE SENT TOO MANY HINTS

Thank you for sending a not-so-subtle hint for the gift you want. Unfortunately, you have hit your limit for today, but come back tomorrow to make sure you get your most wanted ghd products.

THANKS

Increase your chances of getting the gift you really want by sharing your hint on social.

Send more hints

Be sure to get your dream combo and send more hints.