Cookies help us deliver a great experience. By browsing our website you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy Policy last updated: 24/05/2018
The ghd original IV  hair straightener

The ghd original IV hair straightener

The original fan-favourite ghd hair straighteners.

The original icon

Description

The one where it all started; the ghd original IV styler still inspires fans worldwide for perfect everyday results.

This original hair hero uses ceramic heat technology, working at the optimum styling temperature of 185ºC to deliver kind to hair styling, ensuring shiny, sleek results and a long-lasting finish. Simple, effective, iconic, this ghd hair straightener is timeless.

A rounded barrel and floating plates means our original ghd hair straighteners glides easily through hair, creating beautiful styles that will be the envy of everyone you meet. Plus, with automatic sleep mode and universal voltage you can create beautiful results at home or abroad with total peace of mind.

Suitable for all hair types, the ghd original IV hair straightener is a brilliant all-rounder, ensuring you have a good hair day, every day.

PRICE INCLUDES

  • The ghd original IV styler
  • Free delivery available

Product Features

  • Original ceramic heat technology
  • Optimum styling temperature of 185°C: any hotter damages the hair, any cooler and the result is compromised.
  • Floating plates: for extra control while styling.
  • Round barrel: for versatile, snag-free styling that's perfect for creating curls.
  • Automatic sleep mode: switches off if not used for 30 minutes.
  • Universal voltage: for outstanding performance wherever you are in the world.
  • Professional length 2.7m cable
  • 30 second heat up time: for quick and easy styling
  • UK three pin plug

Buy with Confidence

  • 2 years manufacturer's guarantee
  • Secure online payments
  • Guaranteed product authenticity
  • Track your order

Killer Combos

  1. The ghd original IV  hair straightener

    ghd original IV styler

    The ghd original IV hair straightener

    £109.00

    +
    =

    Combo Purchase

    Price for both items

    £130.95


You may also like ...

  1. ghd air® hair dryer

    hair dryers

    ghd air® hair dryer

    £99.00
  2. ghd styler carry case & heat mat

    gifts

    ghd styler carry case & heat mat

    £21.95
  3. ghd heat protect spray

    Heat Protection Sprays

    ghd heat protect spray

    £14.50
The ghd original IV hair straightener is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 6217.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, top quality Great styler. Simple, easy to use and feels robust. Great value for top quality.
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Love these straighteners , only make that does my right , love these
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great straighteners I have very fine hair and find it difficult to maintain my style until the end of the day. Other straighteners don’t make my style last until the end of the day, but these do. I do find I have to make sure I’ve got a decent amount of hair in them otherwise they don’t do a lot. A few sweeps for each piece of hair and you’re done. These don’t make my hair ridiculously hot but still style beautifully. Definitely worth the price.
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Todo perfecto Tardó menos de 48h en llegarme a la puerta de casa, buen servicio y producto inmejorable
Date published: 2020-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was gift It was a gift for my sister and she loved it! Leave a nice finish!
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent ! Lisseur au top, cheveux lissés et super brillants en quelques secondes Je recommande +++
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed Very disappointed with this Straightener. Not up to the usual GHD standard. Had it for less than a month and it is already catching my hair and presumably not heating up sufficiently. Will be returning for a refund.
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Produit de qualité Excellent produit, dommage qu il ne se referme pas
Date published: 2020-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect product I bought these to replace my old ghd straightener which I had for 14 years and served me well. The new ghd straightener is even better as has some additional features such as it bleeps when they are ready to use. If you forget to turn it off it does this automatically after 15 minutes, a good safety feature. I am very happy with my purchase and would highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from El producto muy recomendable y el servicio excelente, el tiempo de llegada, la calidad del producto. La plancha me deja el pelo muy liso y me ayuda con mi encrespamiento y protege mi cabello. Un producto único y con mucha calidad.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulosa Como siempre no decepciona. Todas las mujeres de la familia la tenemos y estamos encantadisimas.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Me gusta mucho la plancha. Como critica constructiva, creo que por el precio del producto que es elevado, deberian de enviar una bolsa para guardarla Es un producto bueno y de precio elevado, creo que podrían enviar junto a la plancha una bolsita de tela o un estuche para guardarla, no que viene sin nada para el precio que tiene. Una bolsa de tela no vale nada y quedaría mucho mejor. Gracias
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product. Delivered promptly Good product. Arrived promptly. I looked forward to using
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 18 years of loving GHD still going strong Since I Started using GHD straighteners when I started my career 18 years they have never let me down. My latest purchase was purely to get a squeaky clean set even though the previous older set are still going strong. Thanks GHD :)
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from They are ok For the price and brand reputation I had high expectations, however now having used them a few times I am left thinking they are average. Things that I think would improve them 1) a way to lock them closed, to help with storage/travel etc 2) a temp gage, there’s only one temp setting which for my hair type still leaves it quite kinky/frizzy 3) not sure is this is just me, but I find they snag my hair a lot in the plate. However they heat up very quickly, very light in weight and long power cord which is brilliant.
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Its OK for not so thick hair its not what I really expected..but as I say its ok for short to medium length and not so thick hair...
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hair straighteners I have thick frizzy curly hair, straightened it with ease, no problem
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has brilliant features I previously used the Toni and Guy wide plate straightners for my hair but found my hair would go frizzy and tangled the moment I stepped outside. However after hearing good reviews about the GHD straightners, I thought I would invest in some. I have to say these are the best straightners I have ever used. They straighten my hair in one go and leaves it feeling smooth, silky and of course straight! I use some heat protect spray before using the straightners to avoid further damage to my split ends. Best purchase ever!
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great! Bought the GHD original straighteners for my mum and she loves them! I'll be getting myself a pair as my last pair gave up the ghost after 13 years. No better straightener that GHD
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick delivery. Not used yet as a Christmas present Quick delivery. Great value brought as a Xmas present
Date published: 2020-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love my new straighteners I am so pleased with my new straighteners they are perfect
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just replacing my old ones, I stick to what I know Great product replacing old with new same ones don’t ever stop making the original
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Good pair of hair straighteners only reason not given 5 stars is I had the original hair straighteners when they were first launched and you can tell they are not made to the same standard. Still a good product though and would only ever use these.
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazed by the quality Excellent! My brother loves it. Thank you very much Team GHD.xx
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love these straighteners but don’t buy direct I bought these after my old pair stopped working after a good 10 years of use. I love the straighteners but found them cheaper on Amazon. I tried to cancel my order within 30m of ordering but was told this wasn’t possible despite them only being dispatched 3 days later. I then had to pay £8 to return them. Highly recommend buying elsewhere as GHD customer service is SHOCKING. Completely off-putting and lets down a good product.
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Fab straighteners love them and great service from GHD
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic hair straighteners Fantastic service and fantastic hair straighteners
Date published: 2020-07-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dont get the hype I bought these because the names supposed to be good and my sister had some about 15yr ago and loved them, turns out the qualities changed over the years, the actual originals when they first came out 10 odd yrs ago could straighten a slinky, (joking but you get the idea) I straightened my hair and within hours it had gone curled at the end or flicked out, I'd have to go over pieces 5 or 6 times to get them straight in the first place, had them for 4 days and sold them, better, cheaper straighteners out there by a landslide.
Date published: 2020-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant straighteners My second pair I just couldn’t do without them. Live them.
Date published: 2020-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from J'adore Après 10ans de loyaux service mon GHD commencé à faire des sienne en sachant que je m'en sert tout les jours et depuis un an dans mon salon de coiffure. La question ne c'est pas pose quand j'ai du le change j'ai racheter un autre GHD. Il n'y a pas mieux sur e marche.
Date published: 2020-07-17
  • y_2020, m_8, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_6217
  • loc_en_GB, sid_124, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ghdhair

Has the design changed for the IV over the years?

some reviews have mentioned the plates don't meet in the middle on the IV anymore. I bought mine 7 years ago (which went bang today), and the plates meet in the middle for smooth straight hair. Has the design or quality changed in any way since then? Is it the same great quality product which will give the same great results?
Asked by: CurlyC
We can confirm that the ghd IV styler is designed to have a slight gap between the plates to allow for thermal expansion. Once the styler has heated up this gap reduces and does not affect the styling experience.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2020-02-13

Do they have temperature control

Asked by: Hippy
The ghd IV styler operates between 175 and 185 degrees and does not have a temperature control.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2020-02-25

the plates doesn't stick flat to each other?if thats like should be?

i got a ghd 4 styler today and when i compare to my old one i notice thats the plates doesn't stick to each other .
Asked by: izabela
We can confirm that when ghd stylers are cold you will notice that there is a slight gap between the plates. This is to allow for thermal expansion and a smoother styling experience, the gap should reduce when the styler has heated up.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2019-09-27

The plug model in Britain?

Is the plug different in Britain from the rest of Europe? Like in France for example?
Asked by: Mayflower
All orders purchased from our UK website will be shipped with a standard UK 3 pin plug. You will be required to use the correct plug adapter for the country you are in when using abroad.
Answered by: MATTH
Date published: 2019-12-01

Will these Straighter work in Canada

Hi I have a pair of these here in England but I'm moving to Canada for a year and I was wondering given the Canadian Mains Voltage is lower than the UKs will these work in Canada? THANKS, M x
Asked by: Monnia
Yes, the IV Styler will work in Canada. All of our stylers are equipped with universal voltage, which means that no matter where you are in the world it will work. The only thing you will need to do is use it with the appropriate plug adapter for the country that you are in.
Answered by: MATTH
Date published: 2019-09-15
  • y_2020, m_8, d_3, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_92
  • loc_en_GB, sid_124, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ghdhair
IF YOU DON'T ASK, YOU DON'T GET

Get the gift you really want by sending a not-so-subtle hint.

This year I would like the

Send hint to:

limit 19 characters
limit 150 characters
*These fields are required
They don't want to get the hint

Unfortunately, {0} doesn’t want to receive emails from ghd, so we cannot send them your hint. But don’t worry, here's a couple of ways to get what you want, including:

  1. Leave not-so-subtle hints with strategically placed magazines and the ghd adverts circled
  2. Share our social posts so they #getthehintdarling

YOU'VE SENT TOO MANY HINTS

Thank you for sending a not-so-subtle hint for the gift you want. Unfortunately, you have hit your limit for today, but come back tomorrow to make sure you get your most wanted ghd products.

THANKS

Increase your chances of getting the gift you really want by sharing your hint on social.

Send more hints

Be sure to get your dream combo and send more hints.