Cookies help us deliver a great experience. By browsing our website you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy Policy last updated: 24/05/2018
The ghd original IV  hair straightener

The ghd original IV hair straightener

The original fan-favourite ghd hair straighteners.

The original icon

Description

The one where it all started; the ghd original IV styler still inspires fans worldwide for perfect everyday results.

This original hair hero uses ceramic heat technology, working at the optimum styling temperature of 185ºC to deliver kind to hair styling, ensuring shiny, sleek results and a long-lasting finish. Simple, effective, iconic, this ghd hair straightener is timeless.

A rounded barrel and floating plates means our original ghd hair straighteners glides easily through hair, creating beautiful styles that will be the envy of everyone you meet. Plus, with automatic sleep mode and universal voltage you can create beautiful results at home or abroad with total peace of mind.

Suitable for all hair types, the ghd original IV hair straightener is a brilliant all-rounder, ensuring you have a good hair day, every day.

PRICE INCLUDES

  • The ghd original IV styler
  • Free delivery available

Product Features

  • Original ceramic heat technology
  • Optimum styling temperature of 185°C: any hotter damages the hair, any cooler and the result is compromised.
  • Floating plates: for extra control while styling.
  • Round barrel: for versatile, snag-free styling that's perfect for creating curls.
  • Automatic sleep mode: switches off if not used for 30 minutes.
  • Universal voltage: for outstanding performance wherever you are in the world.
  • Professional length 2.7m cable
  • 30 second heat up time: for quick and easy styling
  • UK three pin plug

Buy with Confidence

  • 2 years manufacturer's guarantee
  • Secure online payments
  • Guaranteed product authenticity
  • Track your order

Killer Combos

  1. The ghd original IV  hair straightener

    ghd original IV styler

    The ghd original IV hair straightener

    £109.00

    +
    =

    Combo Purchase

    Price for both items

    £130.95


You may also like ...

  1. ghd air® hair dryer

    hair dryers

    ghd air® hair dryer

    £99.00
  2. ghd styler carry case & heat mat

    gifts

    ghd styler carry case & heat mat

    £21.95
  3. ghd heat protect spray

    Heat Protection Sprays

    ghd heat protect spray

    £14.50
The ghd original IV hair straightener is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 6231.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hair straighteners I have thick frizzy curly hair, straightened it with ease, no problem
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has brilliant features I previously used the Toni and Guy wide plate straightners for my hair but found my hair would go frizzy and tangled the moment I stepped outside. However after hearing good reviews about the GHD straightners, I thought I would invest in some. I have to say these are the best straightners I have ever used. They straighten my hair in one go and leaves it feeling smooth, silky and of course straight! I use some heat protect spray before using the straightners to avoid further damage to my split ends. Best purchase ever!
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great! Bought the GHD original straighteners for my mum and she loves them! I'll be getting myself a pair as my last pair gave up the ghost after 13 years. No better straightener that GHD
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick delivery. Not used yet as a Christmas present Quick delivery. Great value brought as a Xmas present
Date published: 2020-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love my new straighteners I am so pleased with my new straighteners they are perfect
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just replacing my old ones, I stick to what I know Great product replacing old with new same ones don’t ever stop making the original
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Good pair of hair straighteners only reason not given 5 stars is I had the original hair straighteners when they were first launched and you can tell they are not made to the same standard. Still a good product though and would only ever use these.
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazed by the quality Excellent! My brother loves it. Thank you very much Team GHD.xx
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love these straighteners but don’t buy direct I bought these after my old pair stopped working after a good 10 years of use. I love the straighteners but found them cheaper on Amazon. I tried to cancel my order within 30m of ordering but was told this wasn’t possible despite them only being dispatched 3 days later. I then had to pay £8 to return them. Highly recommend buying elsewhere as GHD customer service is SHOCKING. Completely off-putting and lets down a good product.
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Fab straighteners love them and great service from GHD
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic hair straighteners Fantastic service and fantastic hair straighteners
Date published: 2020-07-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dont get the hype I bought these because the names supposed to be good and my sister had some about 15yr ago and loved them, turns out the qualities changed over the years, the actual originals when they first came out 10 odd yrs ago could straighten a slinky, (joking but you get the idea) I straightened my hair and within hours it had gone curled at the end or flicked out, I'd have to go over pieces 5 or 6 times to get them straight in the first place, had them for 4 days and sold them, better, cheaper straighteners out there by a landslide.
Date published: 2020-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant straighteners My second pair I just couldn’t do without them. Live them.
Date published: 2020-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from J'adore Après 10ans de loyaux service mon GHD commencé à faire des sienne en sachant que je m'en sert tout les jours et depuis un an dans mon salon de coiffure. La question ne c'est pas pose quand j'ai du le change j'ai racheter un autre GHD. Il n'y a pas mieux sur e marche.
Date published: 2020-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love! really like it! feel like it takes longer to striaghten than i expected but still good
Date published: 2020-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Defectuosa Al cerrarla, las placas hacen pinza, solo se tocan al principio
Date published: 2020-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy with these for the price Will not recommend these was bought as a gift for my mum, she said the 1st use was brilliant but since 1st use they have been rubbish and don't work as well as they should. For GHDs I would have expected better. Especially for the price you pay.
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from La mejor plancha Me las apaño muy mal con el pelo. He probado muchas marcas sin duda la mejor. Excelente
Date published: 2020-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very fast delivery I received my GHD’s the next day, thank goodness as my old one’s died ( after 16yrs) I had read on another review that there was a gap between the plates, mine did too but only very slightly and my hair is thick enough to still get the grip Couldn’t do without my GHD’s
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality straightener! Great quality and arrived super quickly. Very pleased.
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product!! This is my best buy!! Straighteners glide smoothly over my hair leaving it soft!!
Date published: 2020-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bon produit GHD reste une marque que j’adore et que je quitterai jamais toutefois ce produit est un peu décevant par rapport à d’autres lisseurs que j’ai pu avoir chez GHD .
Date published: 2020-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I used ghd for years but stopped buying them about 5 years ago thinking I would try less expensive straighteners. However nothing quite compares and I'm so happy to have a pair again. Apart from their very good performance the auto switch off is the peace of mind I've been missing! No more panic an hour after I've left home as to whether I switched them off or not!
Date published: 2020-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from este producto cuenta con muy buenas caracteristicas muy buena plancha para las amantes del liso,ondas surferas,tirabuzones...poco peso y muy manejable y con temperatura de 180 grados respetando el cabellos para no dañarlo,la recomiendo mucho
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Satisfaite de mon achat Bon lisseur, chauffe très rapidement et le lissage tient longtemps
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longtime GHD Customer Loved the first GHD I purchased over 10 years ago. When that one stopped working I knew I wanted to stick with the GHD brand and I’m so glad I did.
Date published: 2020-06-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Overall not amazing I have always used GHD I had my last pet for 10nyears but thought it was time to update them. Treated myself to these abd very disappointed. The plates don't meet only the tip does meaning only a small amount of hair is getting straightened at once, very disappointed:(
Date published: 2020-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time user xxxxx Never used straighteners before as Iv always had short hair. Got recommended these from my hairdresser and must say they are great. They have really aided with the process of trying to grow my hair turning bad hair days to good within minutes . DEFINITELY AN iNVESTMENT
Date published: 2020-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Me encanta No sólo me la han recomendado, cuando la he probado de mis amigas y familiares siempre me queda el pelo perfecto, así que decidí comprármela cuando las mías se rompieron, un acierto total!!
Date published: 2020-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Service So pleased with my new straighteners. Arrived within 12 hours of placing the order and I managed to get a 10% discount too. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2020-06-26
  • y_2020, m_8, d_7, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_6231
  • loc_en_GB, sid_124, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ghdhair

Has the design changed for the IV over the years?

some reviews have mentioned the plates don't meet in the middle on the IV anymore. I bought mine 7 years ago (which went bang today), and the plates meet in the middle for smooth straight hair. Has the design or quality changed in any way since then? Is it the same great quality product which will give the same great results?
Asked by: CurlyC
We can confirm that the ghd IV styler is designed to have a slight gap between the plates to allow for thermal expansion. Once the styler has heated up this gap reduces and does not affect the styling experience.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2020-02-13

Do they have temperature control

Asked by: Hippy
The ghd IV styler operates between 175 and 185 degrees and does not have a temperature control.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2020-02-25

the plates doesn't stick flat to each other?if thats like should be?

i got a ghd 4 styler today and when i compare to my old one i notice thats the plates doesn't stick to each other .
Asked by: izabela
We can confirm that when ghd stylers are cold you will notice that there is a slight gap between the plates. This is to allow for thermal expansion and a smoother styling experience, the gap should reduce when the styler has heated up.
Answered by: BeckiT
Date published: 2019-09-27

The plug model in Britain?

Is the plug different in Britain from the rest of Europe? Like in France for example?
Asked by: Mayflower
All orders purchased from our UK website will be shipped with a standard UK 3 pin plug. You will be required to use the correct plug adapter for the country you are in when using abroad.
Answered by: MATTH
Date published: 2019-12-01

Will these Straighter work in Canada

Hi I have a pair of these here in England but I'm moving to Canada for a year and I was wondering given the Canadian Mains Voltage is lower than the UKs will these work in Canada? THANKS, M x
Asked by: Monnia
Yes, the IV Styler will work in Canada. All of our stylers are equipped with universal voltage, which means that no matter where you are in the world it will work. The only thing you will need to do is use it with the appropriate plug adapter for the country that you are in.
Answered by: MATTH
Date published: 2019-09-15
  • y_2020, m_8, d_7, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_93
  • loc_en_GB, sid_124, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ghdhair
IF YOU DON'T ASK, YOU DON'T GET

Get the gift you really want by sending a not-so-subtle hint.

This year I would like the

Send hint to:

limit 19 characters
limit 150 characters
*These fields are required
They don't want to get the hint

Unfortunately, {0} doesn’t want to receive emails from ghd, so we cannot send them your hint. But don’t worry, here's a couple of ways to get what you want, including:

  1. Leave not-so-subtle hints with strategically placed magazines and the ghd adverts circled
  2. Share our social posts so they #getthehintdarling

YOU'VE SENT TOO MANY HINTS

Thank you for sending a not-so-subtle hint for the gift you want. Unfortunately, you have hit your limit for today, but come back tomorrow to make sure you get your most wanted ghd products.

THANKS

Increase your chances of getting the gift you really want by sharing your hint on social.

Send more hints

Be sure to get your dream combo and send more hints.